3B Curl, Conditioner, Shampoo

Maui Moisture Smooth & Repair Shampoo and Conditioner: 3b Curl Review

This past week I was at my friendly neighborhood Target and saw these:

thumb_DSCN4907_1024
Maui Moisture Smooth & Repair Shampoo and Conditioner

Maui Moisture Smooth & Repair Shampoo and Conditioner. Obviously I had to buy them immediately.

What’s So Special About Maui Moisture Smooth & Repair?

A few things caught my eye about these products. The shampoo AND conditioner are silicone, paraben and sulfate-free. They also claim to be vegan, eco-friendly (their packaging is post-consumer recycled) and do not test on animals, which is fantastic.

Other claims to fame? The first listed ingredient is aloe vera juice, supposedly excellent for low porosity hair because it’s a humectant (attracts water rather than sealing the hair cuticle, which shuts out moisture). All their products are pH balanced to preserve your hair’s natural oil levels. Finally, each bottle is under $10 each.

It seemed too good to be true.

Test + Styling Method

I washed my hair with the shampoo and left the conditioner on for 5 minutes. While my hair was sopping wet, I applied my favorite leave-in and styler and diffused on cool for 15 minutes. I did NOT diffuse the front curls, which are prone to breakage and frizz.

Investigative Breakdown:
Maui Moisture Smooth & Repair

Maui Moisture Smooth & Repair Shampoo and Conditioner
The3Beat Rating Scale: 1–5 Stars

Criterion Shampoo Conditioner
Scent ⭐⭐⭐⭐ ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Slip ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐⭐⭐
Standout
Ingredients
Aloe Vera juice
Coconut water
Kukui nut oil
Cocoa butter
Aloe Vera juice
Coconut water
Kukui nut oil
Cocoa butter
Glycerin
Parabens No No
Silicones No No
Sulfates No No
Frizz Reduction ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐⭐⭐ ½
Shine Level ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Final Score ⭐⭐⭐ ½

How’d It Turn Out?

thumb_DSCN4996_1024

I know, I look cray. I’ll eventually figure out a way to post without having to show my mug online.

There was a nice amount of softness, definition and frizz reduction. However, the second time I used these products I topped my hair with an oil-based serum. It was a frizzy, stick-like mess.

Conclusion: Maui Moisture makes a solid, affordable option if you’re sensitive about ingredients. However, my hair still needs more moisture, especially if I want super smooth curls and use a sealant. It’s too drying in combination with a serum or oil.

I can’t wait to try out some other lines by Maui Moisture. Have you used any of their products? What were your results? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

